Christmas excitement and traditions

First I’d like to apologise to any readers for the lack of new material on here lately. To be honest, I’ve hardly noticed that November has passed. Where did it go?! But let’s not dwell on the past, especially since it’s December and less than 20 days till Christmas!

Ever since I was young, I’ve loved Christmas. Perhaps it’s because I’ve been lucky to have a white Christmas each year, with a real Christmas tree, an open fire, delicious home-cooked meals and ‘Tre Nøtter Til Askepott’.

Yes, I realise that what I’ve just described above sounds like taken out of a interior design magazine photo shoot, but this has more or less been my holidays for as long as I can remember. And for that I know I’m lucky. The last four words in the paragraph above some of you will not understand what is, so please allow me to elaborate. ‘Tre Nøtter til Askepott’ is mine and many fellow Norwegians’ ‘It’s a Wonderful Life’.

Come 24th December, at 11am, NRK (Norway’s BBC) will broadcast a 70s German-Czechoslovakian adaptation of the well-known Cinderella story, dubbed into Norwegian. It is the only thing I can think of that is actually dubbed, apart from this horrible American sitcom they tried to push onto us man years ago (It didn’t last). But every Christmas Eve morning (is that what you call it?), I will sit down and watch this film which I now know pretty much by heart. Once the end credits roll, and only then, Christmas can finally begin.

It goes with the story that I now own this film on DVD, just in case I cannot go home to Norway one Christmas. This way I can bring my Christmas tradition with me wherever I may be.

Leave a Reply

