A few of my favourite things

It’s been over 10 years since I took my first steps around London town, instantly amazed by its sheer size and possibilities. The year was 1996, and I was over for a long weekend visiting my aunt who was living there at the time – thank god photos from that trip are not easily found as my dress sense could only be described as “fashion roadkill”. Then again it was the 90’s and it only takes one look at Friends to see the truly fantastic garments people favoured…

Since that first breath of smog filled air and narrow escape from cars when crossing the road (left-hand driving is truly a test for anyone not used to it. It taught me to look both ways, twice!), I have always had a soft spot for this great city I now call home.

Having lived here for almost six years, this post is in celebration of some of my favourite things about this marvellous city that you either do or don’t understand.

(in no particular order)

1. Running through the fountains at Somerset House on a warm summer day. Because sometimes it is ok to forget that you are a grown-up, and unleash your inner child!

2. Urban Walking along the Thames, taking in the sights and looking at people. Tip: this is best done early on a Sunday morning, before tourists turn up to block your chosen path for the day.

3. Style! Where else in the world can you find such a fantastic mix of people and trends?

4. The markets: Camden, Spitalfields, Portobello. Each with its own atmosphere and soul. I love going for wander around the markets, feeding on the creativity and energy. Again, as with Urban Walking, go early if you want to escape the crowds.

5. Massive, outdoor furniture. You know when summer has arrived when the green sofa + chair appears on the Southbank.

These are only a few of my favourite things. More will be added. Watch this space!

Leave a Reply

