Fashionable?

With May looming, it got me thinking of 17th of May, Norway’s National Day. Not only do we dress up in national costumes that make us look like milk maids (or is that just me?) to celebrate that Norway was declared as an independent nation in 1814. This is kind of strange to me, as we were still under Swedish rule at that point.. Ah well. Anyway, it’s a day we get to dress up in expensive costumes (“bunad”) and eat as much ice cream and as many hot dogs as we want, and walk in parades waving the red, white and blue flag proudly.

Unfortunately I don’t have my “bunad” with me in London, but there are some pictures of me somewhere. But it looks something like this:

picture: dagbladet.no

Leave a Reply

